Our District

Minnesota’s First Congressional District stretches from the South Dakota border to the Wisconsin border, containing all or part of 21 counties in southern Minnesota, including Blue Earth, Brown, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodue, Houston, Jackson, Martin, Mower, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Rice, Rock, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan, and Winona counties.

Congressman Finstad is proud to be a member of committees in the House whose work and policies are critically important to the First District, including the House Agriculture Committee and the House Armed Services Committee.

Industries important to the First District include agriculture, education, health care, labor, and manufacturing. Major companies headquartered in the First District include the Mayo Clinic, Hormel, Fastenal, and the Taylor Corporation.

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, farmland in southern Minnesota is some of the most productive in the world, with a market value of agriculture products totaling over $6.5 billion annually. The district leads the state in hog production, and is ranked second in the state for production of grains, beef, poultry, and dairy.