## Congress of the United States

## Washington, DC 20515

October 26, 2023

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

## Dear Speaker Johnson:

We write to congratulate you on your election as Speaker of the House and to highlight the critical importance of your commitment to prioritizing American farm, ranch, and forester families and the federal policies important to them throughout the remainder of the 118<sup>th</sup> Congress.

More than 92 percent of our nation's planted acres are represented by Republican Members. Moreover, in 2022, the food and agriculture sectors contributed \$7.4 trillion in economic activity, creating 43 million jobs, \$2.3 trillion in wages, \$718 billion in tax revenue, and \$183 billion in exports, stemming from direct, indirect, and induced output.

Americans today enjoy the safest, most abundant, and affordable food supply in the world. And we accomplish this despite a global market that is awash in high and rising foreign subsidies, tariffs, and other predatory, non-tariff barriers to free and fair trade. Farm country has also faced serious challenges straining the food supply chain throughout the last several years, including impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, weather-related disasters, and skyrocketing input costs, underscoring the importance of the Farm Bill.

Simply put, farm and food security is national security. For a mere one-fifth of one percent of federal spending, the farm safety net, including commodity support programs and crop insurance, provides farmers and ranchers the foundation they need to manage risk, pass their farm or ranch down to the next generation, and continue producing the highest quality, lowest cost food, fuel, fiber, and forestry products in the world.

The Farm Bill is a critical agenda item that must be addressed this Congress. We urge you and the Conference at-large to be united in ensuring swift passage of a strong Farm Bill that is written by farmers, for farmers, and by rural communities, for rural communities – supporting the farm, ranch, and forester families we represent.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to working with you and our colleagues in the House to achieve the important objective of supporting farm country.

Sincerely,

Brail Fratal

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

mber of Congress

Member of Congress

arnes R. Baird Member of Congress Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Tracey Mann Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Ashley Himson Member of Congress

ashley Hisa

David Rouzer Member of Congress

John R. Carter Member of Congress David G. Valadao Member of Congress Mark Alford
Member of Congress

ohn Iv Rose

John Rose

Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Ralph Norman Member of Congress John S. Duarte Member of Congress

Lori Chavez-DeRemer Member of Congress

Mary E. Miller Member of Congress

Mike Carey
Member of Congress

Monica De La Cruz Member of Congress



Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

Zachang Munn

<del>Zach</del> Nunn

Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Blake D. Moore Member of Congress

Blake D. Moore

Lauren Boebert
Member of Congress

Mike Flood Member of Gongress #X.Zh

Ryan K. Zinke Member of Congress

Lisa C. McClain Member of Congress

Lisa C Moclain

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

Max L. Miller Member of Congress

Julia Letlow, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Pete Sessions
Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Mark E. Amodei
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Clay Higgins
Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Michael K. Simpson Member of Congress Larry Bucshon, M.D.
Member of Congress

Trent Kelly
Member of Congress

Derrick Van Orden
Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Matthew Brown dela Sir

Matthew Rosendale, Sr. Member of Congress

Jack Bergman
Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress Kay Granger
Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Erin Houchin Member of Congress

Ronny L. Jackson, M.D. Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer
Member of Congress

Laurel M. Lee Member of Congress